GF Vinegars

What types of vinegar are safe on the gluten free diet?

  1. Distilled white vinegar is a bit controversial as it can be made from a combination of sources that include gluten.
  2. Apple cider vinegar is made from apple cider and is safe.
  3. Wine vinegar is ok to consume since it is made from grapes.
  4. Balsamic vinegar is made from grapes and aged in wooden casks.
  5. Rice vinegar is used in Japanese cooking, and while ok, make sure you check the ingredients to make sure it doesn’t contain barley malt.
  6. Cane vinegar is made from sugar cane.
  7. Flavored vinegars are generally ok, but some are not. Check the ingredients for other grains.

What do you need to know about how the food industry regards gluten free vinegars?

  1. Supermarkets who produce their own brands are typically manufactured by outside companies.
  2. Food companies are not required to divulge where they source their vinegar in condiments.
  3. Always ask a grocer where their vinegar is sourced to make sure there isn’t a threat of cross contamination.
11/6/2015 8:33:44 PM
Julie Callicutt
Written by
Julie is the owner of Ms. Julie's Gluten Free Foods, purveyor of homemade gluten free fruit medleys and vegetable blends for the consumer requiring a gluten free diet due to medical or nutritional reasons.
View Full Profile

Comments
Be the first to leave a comment.
Wellness.com does not provide medical advice, diagnosis or treatment nor do we verify or endorse any specific business or professional listed on the site. Wellness.com does not verify the accuracy or efficacy of user generated content, reviews, ratings or any published content on the site. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use.
©2019 Wellness®.com is a registered trademark of Wellness.com, Inc. Powered by Earnware