10 Foods You Probably Think Are Vegan—But Actually Aren't

By Dana Poblete for Thrive Market

Going vegan can sometimes feel like all things sinful are suddenly out of reach, and blandness is the price to pay for a soul-soothing, cruelty-free diet. On the other side of the coin, you may be cheerfully gulping apple juice and melting soy cheese on a veggie pizza, proudly reveling in your ethical choices, oblivious to what's really in your food.

First of all, kudos to you for caring. As a reward, you can feel free to indulge in a few foods you might not have known fall within the confines of a vegan diet. But there are also those items that are easy to assume are totally free of animal products. After all, why would you have any reason to believe that orange juice is pulling the wool over your eyes?

You have the right to know exactly what you can and cannot put into your body based on your beliefs. To help you navigate the world of veganism a little more easily, here are 10 foods that most of us would assume are vegan, but actually contain animal products. And we've added 10 more surprises—foods that don't seem vegan, but are!

Surprisingly Not Vegan:

1. Stout Beer

Certain stout beers (particularly British ones) are filtered with isinglass, a membrane from tropical fish bladders. Some apple juices are filtered with the same stuff. R.W. Knudsen organic apple juice boxes are totally vegan-friendly, though.

2. Worcestershire Sauce

This sauce often contains anchovies. Luckily, Annie’s Homegrown makes a vegan version.

3. Boxed Cake Mixes

Beef fat, labeled as lard, can be hiding inconspicuously in many boxed cake mixes.

4. Sugar

Refined sugar isn’t naturally white—it’s processed with bone char (sometimes labeled as "natural carbon") to make it so. Instead, opt for unrefined sugar such as Big Tree Farms’ Organic Coconut Palm Sugar or Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Sugar.

5. Red Candies

These are often dyed with red pigment extracted from a cochineal insect, which is typically listed as cochineal, carminic acid or carmine. It’s also found in some wine, vinegar, juice and colored pasta. Replace your Red Vines and Twizzlers with vegan-friendly Clif Kid Organic ZFruit Rope.

6. Orange Juice

Juices enhanced with omega-3s often get those amino acids from fish oil and gelatin. Also, added vitamin D is derived from lanolin, a natural oil in the fiber of sheep’s wool.

7. Bread

Omega-3 enhanced bread also uses fish oil, along with animal-derived ingredients typically found in bread including eggs, milk, whey, butter, and honey.

8. Margarine

This may seem like an ideal butter alternative, but it sometimes contains whey, gelatin, and a milk protein called casein.

9. Packaged Peanuts

Certain brands, including Planter’s, contain gelatin.

10. Soy Cheese

What’s the point of soy cheese if it’s not vegan? Casein sometimes gives this stuff its cheesy taste and meltable texture. But don’t give up on it, because vegan versions do exist if you keep a discerning eye out.

Surprisingly Vegan:

1. Chipotle Sofritas

Not only has Chipotle opted out of serving their popular carnitas due to a supplier’s poor treatment of farmed pigs, but they now offer a vegan alternative called sofritas. They’re also making strides in going GMO-free.

2. Oreos

Those creamy centers are unbelievably vegan.

3. Clasico Bacon Habanero Tortilla Chips

Can it be true? Vegan bacon flavor? Yup.

4. Cap’n Crunch Peanut Butter Crunch

Oddly enough, this childhood staple contains no animal products whatsoever.

5. Thai Kitchen Pad Thai Noodle Kit

Restaurant pad thai typically contains fish sauce, but this kit allows you to make a vegan version of pad thai at home.

6. Ghirardelli Hot Chocolate

The chocolate hazelnut, chocolate mocha, and double chocolate flavors are creamy, yet totally vegan.

7. Pillsbury Crescent Rolls (Original)

Buttery goodness with no butter at all.

8. Monster and Red Bull Energy Drinks

These gas station staples are vegan, but Guru Natural Energy Drink is a healthier option.

9. Duncan Hines Creamy Home-Style Frosting

Chocolate and classic vanilla frosting can be paired with your favorite vegan cake recipe.

10. Nature Valley Granola Bars (Brown Sugar)

These vegan granola bars bring a whole new meaning to the "crunchy granola" stereotype.

You Might Also Like:

6/17/2015 7:00:00 AM
Michelle Pellizzon
Hi, I'm Michelle! I'm an editor and health coach working at Thrive Market. Thrive Market is an online shopping club that’s changing the way everyone shops for healthy food. Thrive Market members can get the best-selling wholesome products in everyday sizes, always 25% - 50% below retail prices, with free home delivery...
View Full Profile Website: http://www.thrivemarket.com/

Comments
the only way to be sure that a product contains neither milk nor meat products of any variation whatsoever is to look for kosher certification. if you educate your readers about the ou and the word pareve...they wont have to question the quality...and for foods certified for passover. an OU with a P means no corn syrup even in coke and pepsi...
Posted by myra

Related Keywords

Wellness.com does not provide medical advice, diagnosis or treatment nor do we verify or endorse any specific business or professional listed on the site. Wellness.com does not verify the accuracy or efficacy of user generated content, reviews, ratings or any published content on the site. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use.
©2015 Wellness®.com is a registered trademark of Wellness.com, Inc. Powered by Earnware