Dairy free diet

background

A dairy free diet contains absolutely no dairy products; no milk, butter, cheese, cream or yogurt. People who follow a dairy free diet may include: lactose-intolerant individuals, individuals with irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), ovo vegetarians, fruitarians or vegans.
An egg free diet contains no eggs or foods made with any part of an egg. Many pastries, desserts and breads contain eggs and thus cannot be eaten with an egg free diet. People who follow an egg free diet may include: individuals with an allergy to eggs, fruitarians, lacto vegetarians and vegans.
Lactose intolerance is the inability to digest significant amounts of lactose, the major sugar found in milk. Lactose intolerance is caused by a shortage of the enzyme lactase, which is produced by the cells that line the small intestine. Lactase breaks down milk sugar into two simpler forms of sugar called glucose and galactose, which are then absorbed into the bloodstream. People may confuse lactose intolerance with cow's milk intolerance because the symptoms are often the same. However, lactose intolerance and cow's milk intolerance are not related. Being intolerant to cow's milk is an allergic reaction triggered by the immune system. Lactose intolerance is a problem caused by the digestive system.
Most people who are allergic to eggs are allergic to egg protein and may react to the proteins in the egg white. However, because it is impossible to completely avoid cross-contamination between yolks and white, people who are allergic to eggs need to avoid eggs completely. The most allergenic proteins in egg white are ovalbumin, ovomucoid, ovotransferrin and lysozyme. Lysozyme is an unlabeled additive used in cheese preparation. Egg yolk contains three proteins (apovitellenins I & VI and phosvitin) that are also allergenic.
Lacto vegetarians do not eat meat or eggs but do consume dairy products. Most vegetarians in India and those in the classical Mediterranean lands, such as Pythagoreans, are or were lacto vegetarian. Ovo vegetarians do not eat meat or dairy products but do eat eggs. Fruitarians eat a diet that consists of only raw fruit and seeds and other plant matter that can be gathered without harming the plant, and thus follow a dairy free diet. Vegans avoid eating or using any animal products, including eggs and dairy.
Many studies suggest that consuming dairy may have many health benefits including: providing calcium, protein, B vitamins, minerals, vitamin D, vitamin A and probiotics (beneficial bacteria). However, many studies also show possible negative effects of dairy including: arthritis pain, acne and increased risk for certain types of cancer. Additionally, conditions like autism, obesity and prostrate cancer have been linked to dairy consumption.
Egg free diets are often combined with a dairy free diet, particularly in the case of vegans or individuals allergic to both milk and eggs. Dairy free diets are becoming more popular with the increase in lactose-intolerance awareness, vegetarianism and new studies suggesting negative effects of dairy. Those following a dairy free diet are advised to make sure they get enough calcium, protein and vitamins from other food sources.

synonyms

Apovitellenins I, apovitellenins VI, dairy, diet, egg free diet, fruitarian, gastroenteritis, IBS, irritable bowel syndrome, lacto vegetarians, lactose, lactose intolerance, lysozyme, ovalbumin, ovomucoid, ovotransferrin, ovo vegetarian, phosvitin, vegan.

diet outline

Those who follow a dairy free diet consume absolutely no dairy products. Many substitute rice and soy products. People may or may not eat meat, fish, poultry, fruits and vegetables depending on their reasons for a dairy free diet.
Dairy substitutes may include: almond milk, apple, pear or prune puree, cheese alternatives (soy, rice), multi-grain milk, non-diary frozen desserts, oat milk, rice milk or soy milk. When baking, milk may be substituted, in equal amounts, with water or fruit juice.
Some hidden sources of milk may include: deli meat slicers that are frequently used for both meat and cheese products; some brands of canned tuna fish that may contain casein, a milk protein; many non-dairy products that contain casein (a milk derivative), listed on the ingredient labels; some meats that may contain casein as a binder; and many restaurants that may put butter on steaks after they have been grilled to add extra flavor.
Those following an egg free diet may avoid the following products because of their egg-containing potential: albumin, some baby foods, battered meat or fish, Bavarian creams, some beers, some breaded foods, some breads (particularly those with shine crusts, i.e. Portuguese sweet bread), cakes, some candy, some coffee, some cookies, consomm├ęs, creamed foods, creamed pies, cream puffs, croquettes, custards, doughnuts, egg beaters, egg noodles, egg rolls, egg whites, egg yolks, some egg substitutes, eggnog, fondue, French ice cream, fritters, frostings, hollandaise sauces, ice cream, marshmallows, mayonnaise, meringues, some muffins, pancakes, some pie fillings, powered or dry eggs, prepared meats, pretzels, puddings, root bears, some salad dressings, sausages, sherbets, some soups, souffl├ęs, tartar sauce, some wines and waffles. Other words that may indicate egg include: apovitellenins I & VI, globulin, livetin, lysozyme, ovalbumin, ovoglobulin egg albumin, ovomucin, ovomucoid, ovotransferrin and phosvitin. This list is not comprehensive and a qualified healthcare professional should be consulted for a complete list.
Some hidden sources of eggs many include: eggs used to create the foam or milk topping on specialty coffee drinks or used in some bar drinks; some commercial brands of egg substitutes contain egg whites; most commercially processed cooked pastas (including those used in prepared foods such as soup) that contain egg or are processed on equipment shared with egg-containing pastas; and fresh pasta.
When baking, eggs may be substituted for: 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tbsp liquid, 1 tbsp vinegar; 1 tsp yeast dissolved in 1/4 cup warm water; 1 1/2 tbsp water, 1 1/2 tbsp oil, 1 tsp baking powder; or 1 packet gelatin, 2 tbsp warm water.